Review: GreenLife Ceramic Nonstick Cookware

16 Flares 16 Flares ×

Quiet as it’s kept, I really like nonstick cookware. Mostly because I don’t enjoy wasting my precious elbow grease scrubbing the day’s meals off my pots. What I don’t like is the toxic crap that’s found in most nonstick coatings. The type of stuff that we really don’t want ending up in our food. So when Walmart asked me to try Greenlife Cookware, eco-friendly nonstick pots and pans, I couldn’t wait.

greenlife2

You see, for the past few years, my family and I have been using a set of stainless steel pots. They work great and they’ve held up really well over the years, but even if I give them a good coat of nonstick cooking spray, I still find myself having to soak them and scrub them clean. Not fun. And while we love our glass bakeware, they have the same problem. Getting them clean is a beast.

GreenLife promised to be different. These pieces are made with a Thermolon ceramic non-stick coating, which is free of PFOA, lead and cadmium free. As a result, they release no toxic fumes during cooking.

greenlife1

We received a GreenLife frying pan and baking dish to try. Let the games begin.

First, of all, they’re beautiful! Get into that color. Turquoise is my favorite, so that’s already a win.

greenlife3

They’re also lightweight, which I count as a perk. We used to have a gas stove, but when we moved, we inherited a ceramic cooktop that heats up a lot more slowly. This means that our thick stainless steel pots take a long while to begin cooking. The lighter GreenLife pan got hot a lot faster and cooked very evenly.

But the true test is how effective this ceramic nonstick coating would be. The best way to find out? Scrambled eggs. Because we all know what happens when you cook eggs in a pan that sticks.

Well, thanks to GreenLife, I won’t have to worry about that any more. In a word, the performance was flawless.

greenlife5

I didn’t use nonstick spray, because I wanted to see how well the pan would do without it. Even so, nothing stuck. It was awesome!

The baking dish performed similarly. I used it to make a family favorite: baked macaroni and cheese pie. Unfortunately, I didn’t take photos because we were too eager to eat, but trust me when I say that the performance of the baking pan was equally as impressive as the frying pan. No sticking, no burning.

The packaging says these pieces are dishwasher safe, but also recommends hand washing to preserve the integrity of the nonstick surfaces. I choose to hand wash, and they have performed perfectly every time I’ve used them.

greenlife4

I’ve been able to wipe both pieces of cookware clean with nothing but the soft side of a kitchen sponge and some dish liquid. Needless to say, I’m in love. So much that I plan to purchase the rest of the pieces to complete the set. Individual pieces range from $00-00, but you can get a complete set for $80. Not bad at all.

If you’re looking for non-stick cookware free of all the toxins in traditional pots and that are affordable, you really should consider GreenLife.

Disclosure: As a participant in the Walmart Moms Program, I’ve received product samples and compensation for my time and efforts in creating this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Affiliate links have been used.

16 Flares Facebook 13 Pin It Share 0 Twitter 3 Google+ 0 16 Flares ×

20 comments… add one

  • ML August 24, 2014, 10:21 pm

    Thank you for doing a review on this. I have been passing these in the store and wondering whether they work. I have been on the look out for a healthy non stick option and these are so darn cute.

  • McAllen August 28, 2014, 9:29 pm

    looks like i’m going to have something added on my list to buy for the kitchen, I find it useful and handy for our small kitchen.

  • Madison December 19, 2014, 11:48 am

    Thank you so much, I have been looking at the turquoise set for my mom for Christmas. We just moved and she decided that she would throw pretty much all of our pots and pans away bc they were bad, so i know what t put under the tree this year i guess thank you so much. Going to make my brother get me to Walmart sometime this week so i can get the set.

  • Donna Sawtelle January 30, 2015, 6:35 pm

    When using these pans did you run into any issues with the ceramic coating? I recently decided it was time to replace my Teflon pots and pans, so I was super excited to find these pans at my local Walmart. I purchased them on 1/1/15. I used them for less than 3 weeks and ended up returning them because 4 of the pans had chips and scratches in the ceramic. I don’t use metal utensils or high heat. Needless to say I was disappointed because they worked BEAUTIFULLY. How long have you had your pans? Are you having any problems?
    Thanks!

    • jennae February 23, 2015, 5:48 pm

      Donna, I have very small specks where the coating is coming off, but no major issues. We hand wash and use silicone utensils, but I can definitely understand why you’d want to take them back.

  • Tabitha February 21, 2015, 6:47 pm

    Can I ask how long you cooked with them before posting a review? I purchased these 2 months ago and all the non stick is already gone. Worst set I ever owned. Please don’t waste your money on these.

    • jennae February 23, 2015, 5:46 pm

      Tabitha, I used them for a couple of weeks without problems before posting the review. I’ve been using them since, and while there are small specks where the coating has come off, with hand-washing and using silicone utensils, they’re still in good condition. If your coating has completely come off, I’d definitely take them back to Walmart and ask for your money back. Really.

      • Walt March 29, 2015, 9:17 pm

        Try cooking bacon on it. Our pan is permanently stained. My wife decided to discard it and bought another. Same problem. I don’t know why she is so stubborn about buying another. Can you get your money back for these???

  • chris February 25, 2015, 1:11 pm

    I have had my set of green life for a year now and I love them. Easy clean good food.

  • Brenda Wardwell February 27, 2015, 11:38 am

    I purchased the Large Skillet because of the tall sides and the fact it had a lid. I do clean cooking and eating and have used my pan daily since before Christmas. I do have one very small scratch from using tongs to pick up a piece of chicken, but other than that it works perfectly. I purchased a smaller one later and have had no problems with that one at all. I only use coconut oil in my pans and now no more regular tongs only silicone tongs and utensils and always hand washing. I am now looking to buy the large soup pot. Best non stick pans I’ve ever owned

  • dennise March 7, 2015, 3:11 pm

    Worked good 3 to 4 weeks after the coating was flaking off. We don’t have a dishwasher and I used wooden utensils I will not be buying this again. Back to my cast iron

  • Xochitl nerc March 8, 2015, 2:40 pm

    The handle on my fry pan caught on fire

  • TED March 15, 2015, 4:41 pm

    I am totally disappointed in my skillet. When I first purchased it nothing stuck to it. My skillet is not about 4 months old and everything sticks to it. I’ve tried a light coat of butter but not oil, and my eggs still stick to it. My doctor put me on the Adkins diet and told me to eat eggs three times a day for 2 weeks, I’m tired of the eggs sticking to the skillet! And yes, I cook them on low heat.

  • Roger Kallenbach March 20, 2015, 2:02 pm

    I bought a set from Walmart over a year ago, for our winter home, proudly made a hanging rack and displayed my new find, used them a low heat, with all no scratch utensils, hand washed them with a soft dish cloth, for a few weeks last season and was so please, when asked what I wanted for Christmas, I mentioned and received another complete set, which I planned to take north and replace that cookware with.

    That’s the good news.

    The bad news is they started to show tiny spots in some areas and also have food sticking in those area, in spite of the use of extra olive oil. I’m very displeased with the product and intended to take the, un-opened Christmas gift back to a Walmart store. I no longer have the box the first set came in or the recite or proof of purchase. Well they still give me a refund?

    I’d like to start over with a different product, probably one made in the USA.

  • BJ March 30, 2015, 12:17 pm

    Havin problems frying eggs.. They’re sticking n tearing when turning., any ideas??

  • Marie March 31, 2015, 6:25 pm

    I was gifted a 12 in. Green Life skillet back at Christmas 2013. I’ve used it every day, hand washing it every time and using only melamine (hard plastic) or silicone spatulas. It has gradually developed chips over time and now, 15 mos. later, needs replacing because I have to use something abrasive to clean the center where the coating has worn off severely. However, for the cost, about $25, it was a very inexpensive pan, so I will probably buy another unless I can find something else more durable. Not sure I want to risk double or more $$ though.

  • Tami Volz April 17, 2015, 9:50 pm

    I am so disappointed in these pans and more disappointed with the company. Good luck with the warranty or getting in contact with them. They NEVER return calls and you cannot contact them online.
    Waste of $80.00.
    Tami Volz recently posted { If LED is the Future, the Future is Now }

  • Cathie May 2, 2015, 12:12 pm

    We have had ours 2 weeks. Loved them. Thus morning, after frying bacon on medium heat, two chinks have appeared on the pan. So very sad. I will say the ceramic distributes the heat far more evenly than other cookware.

  • Teri May 12, 2015, 12:29 pm

    I had read somewhere that your not supposed to use non-stick spray (Pam) on these pans, just oil.?

  • jesse May 16, 2015, 11:50 am

    My pans worked great for a few months and then stopped working they even stick when cooking bacon. We dont have a dish washer so that didn’t wreck them. very sorry that I got them, and would rather be “poisoned” by teflon.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

16 Flares Facebook 13 Pin It Share 0 Twitter 3 Google+ 0 16 Flares ×