Review: GreenLife Ceramic Nonstick Cookware

24 Flares 24 Flares ×

Quiet as it’s kept, I really like nonstick cookware. Mostly because I don’t enjoy wasting my precious elbow grease scrubbing the day’s meals off my pots. What I don’t like is the toxic crap that’s found in most nonstick coatings. The type of stuff that we really don’t want ending up in our food. So when Walmart asked me to try Greenlife Cookware, eco-friendly nonstick pots and pans, I couldn’t wait.


You see, for the past few years, my family and I have been using a set of stainless steel pots. They work great and they’ve held up really well over the years, but even if I give them a good coat of nonstick cooking spray, I still find myself having to soak them and scrub them clean. Not fun. And while we love our glass bakeware, they have the same problem. Getting them clean is a beast.

GreenLife promised to be different. These pieces are made with a Thermolon ceramic non-stick coating, which is free of PFOA, lead and cadmium free. As a result, they release no toxic fumes during cooking.


We received a GreenLife frying pan and baking dish to try. Let the games begin.

First, of all, they’re beautiful! Get into that color. Turquoise is my favorite, so that’s already a win.


They’re also lightweight, which I count as a perk. We used to have a gas stove, but when we moved, we inherited a ceramic cooktop that heats up a lot more slowly. This means that our thick stainless steel pots take a long while to begin cooking. The lighter GreenLife pan got hot a lot faster and cooked very evenly.

But the true test is how effective this ceramic nonstick coating would be. The best way to find out? Scrambled eggs. Because we all know what happens when you cook eggs in a pan that sticks.

Well, thanks to GreenLife, I won’t have to worry about that any more. In a word, the performance was flawless.


I didn’t use nonstick spray, because I wanted to see how well the pan would do without it. Even so, nothing stuck. It was awesome!

The baking dish performed similarly. I used it to make a family favorite: baked macaroni and cheese pie. Unfortunately, I didn’t take photos because we were too eager to eat, but trust me when I say that the performance of the baking pan was equally as impressive as the frying pan. No sticking, no burning.Read more about this on the official website WaterSoftenerMaestro.

The packaging says these pieces are dishwasher safe, but also recommends hand washing to preserve the integrity of the nonstick surfaces. I choose to hand wash, and they have performed perfectly every time I’ve used them.


I’ve been able to wipe both pieces of cookware clean with nothing but the soft side of a kitchen sponge and some dish liquid. Needless to say, I’m in love. So much that I plan to purchase the rest of the pieces to complete the set. Individual pieces range from $00-00, but you can get a complete set for $80. Not bad at all.

If you’re looking for non-stick cookware free of all the toxins in traditional pots and that are affordable, you really should consider GreenLife.

Disclosure: As a participant in the Walmart Moms Program, I’ve received product samples and compensation for my time and efforts in creating this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Affiliate links have been used.

24 Flares Facebook 24 Pin It Share 0 Twitter 0 Google+ 0 24 Flares ×
73 comments… add one
  • ML August 24, 2014, 10:21 pm

    Thank you for doing a review on this. I have been passing these in the store and wondering whether they work. I have been on the look out for a healthy non stick option and these are so darn cute.

    • Elizabeth burton November 12, 2015, 9:36 am

      Elizabeth my frying pan is crap also, worst i ever had, what a ripoff, do not waste your money folks.

      • Alexander July 3, 2016, 5:13 pm

        Elizabeth Burton You didn’t say precisely how your pan is “crap”. Do you actually own a Green Life pan?

        I’ve had mine for awhile and it cooks stick-free since the day I bought it. No chips and the handle is still firmly attached.

        Not “crap” at all.

      • R Estes August 7, 2016, 12:42 pm

        I agree they worked fine the first time I have handwashed and used ceramic tp myself I have cooked a dozen eggs two pancakes and two veggie burgers the pan s will not cook eggs r anything now without ruining them ..waste of money

      • EVELYN GORHAM September 5, 2016, 9:29 am

        they work fine for a bout 3 months but then they start sticking, I’ve even used a cooking spray but sticking is what they do best. not worth the money.

        • EVELYN GORHAM September 5, 2016, 9:40 am

          I only starting using spray after getting the same results with coconut oil and olive oil. I appears it doesn’t matter. spray or no spray….everything sticks. definitely not worth the money. also there doesn’t seem to be any way to contact them. just another money making scam.

  • McAllen August 28, 2014, 9:29 pm

    looks like i’m going to have something added on my list to buy for the kitchen, I find it useful and handy for our small kitchen.

  • Madison December 19, 2014, 11:48 am

    Thank you so much, I have been looking at the turquoise set for my mom for Christmas. We just moved and she decided that she would throw pretty much all of our pots and pans away bc they were bad, so i know what t put under the tree this year i guess thank you so much. Going to make my brother get me to Walmart sometime this week so i can get the set.

  • Donna Sawtelle January 30, 2015, 6:35 pm

    When using these pans did you run into any issues with the ceramic coating? I recently decided it was time to replace my Teflon pots and pans, so I was super excited to find these pans at my local Walmart. I purchased them on 1/1/15. I used them for less than 3 weeks and ended up returning them because 4 of the pans had chips and scratches in the ceramic. I don’t use metal utensils or high heat. Needless to say I was disappointed because they worked BEAUTIFULLY. How long have you had your pans? Are you having any problems?

    • jennae February 23, 2015, 5:48 pm

      Donna, I have very small specks where the coating is coming off, but no major issues. We hand wash and use silicone utensils, but I can definitely understand why you’d want to take them back.

    • Alexander July 3, 2016, 5:15 pm

      About two years.
      I never use oil and wipe them off with a soft cloth after each use.
      Still looks new.

  • Tabitha February 21, 2015, 6:47 pm

    Can I ask how long you cooked with them before posting a review? I purchased these 2 months ago and all the non stick is already gone. Worst set I ever owned. Please don’t waste your money on these.

    • jennae February 23, 2015, 5:46 pm

      Tabitha, I used them for a couple of weeks without problems before posting the review. I’ve been using them since, and while there are small specks where the coating has come off, with hand-washing and using silicone utensils, they’re still in good condition. If your coating has completely come off, I’d definitely take them back to Walmart and ask for your money back. Really.

      • Walt March 29, 2015, 9:17 pm

        Try cooking bacon on it. Our pan is permanently stained. My wife decided to discard it and bought another. Same problem. I don’t know why she is so stubborn about buying another. Can you get your money back for these???

        • Anita April 16, 2016, 9:03 am

          I just this morning fried a whole pack of bacon in my GreenLife pan and there is no stain whatsoever. Trick is to not cook it much hotter than the lowest setting your stove has. My gas range runs hot so I cook it on almost the lowest I can. I love my two pans and am considering a whole set. My most fav- you can toast cheese sandwiches without them sticking like crazy! have had mine since last summer. Also, don’t stack them. That would cause chips. I put cloths between mine if stacked and NO CHIPS!

        • Kim July 25, 2016, 11:36 am

          OMG! We used the pan for bacon also, samething. Worked great for 2-3 months, now it is useless. Bacon and everything else sticks and burns. What ashame, really liked it at the beginning.

    • Patrick October 4, 2015, 5:09 pm


    • Janice cook October 8, 2015, 12:53 pm

      I bought 2 pans from Walmart also and everything sticks to mine even using oil!!!!!!! How can I get food not to stick????

    • Andree' October 13, 2015, 11:07 pm

      I’ve had mine for 2+ years & they still look practically brand new. I have a couple very small scratches on 1 or 2 pots, but nothing to complain about. I also hand wash & use proper utensils. The small scratches I did get were from absent minded metal utensil use. I would purchase again!

      • Vonda February 21, 2016, 11:06 am

        Same here, Andree’! We’ve had ours for 2+ years and it’s in perfect condition! The only “non-stick” coating on cookware that I’ve ever seen (and sadly used) has been anything coated with the toxic “Teflon”. Before I knew of the dangers, that’s all we used and no, I didn’t have to use any oil or non-stick cooking spray. With Green Life or most any other cookware these days that say “non-stick” I think they should say to use a bit of oil, although some do mention that tip. The great thing about ceramic is that you have to use very little oil, clean up is a breeze and no toxins are leaching into your food. And when you use silicone or wood utensils you should really never see any chips or nicks. I did invest in a few pieces from Ceramcor. They are pricey but they are 100% solid ceramic, not coated.

  • chris February 25, 2015, 1:11 pm

    I have had my set of green life for a year now and I love them. Easy clean good food.

  • Brenda Wardwell February 27, 2015, 11:38 am

    I purchased the Large Skillet because of the tall sides and the fact it had a lid. I do clean cooking and eating and have used my pan daily since before Christmas. I do have one very small scratch from using tongs to pick up a piece of chicken, but other than that it works perfectly. I purchased a smaller one later and have had no problems with that one at all. I only use coconut oil in my pans and now no more regular tongs only silicone tongs and utensils and always hand washing. I am now looking to buy the large soup pot. Best non stick pans I’ve ever owned

  • dennise March 7, 2015, 3:11 pm

    Worked good 3 to 4 weeks after the coating was flaking off. We don’t have a dishwasher and I used wooden utensils I will not be buying this again. Back to my cast iron

  • Xochitl nerc March 8, 2015, 2:40 pm

    The handle on my fry pan caught on fire

  • TED March 15, 2015, 4:41 pm

    I am totally disappointed in my skillet. When I first purchased it nothing stuck to it. My skillet is not about 4 months old and everything sticks to it. I’ve tried a light coat of butter but not oil, and my eggs still stick to it. My doctor put me on the Adkins diet and told me to eat eggs three times a day for 2 weeks, I’m tired of the eggs sticking to the skillet! And yes, I cook them on low heat.

    • Pamela Byrne August 26, 2015, 2:16 pm

      I agree that these pans are HORRIBLE!! I have had mine for five months and I am going to throw them away and buy something new. The pots are ok, but the frying pans are garbage! I tried to make a grilled cheese sandwich the other day and the well buttered bread still stuck to the pan and had to be scraped off. My old iron skillet did just fine tho.

      • September Day June 14, 2016, 12:09 am

        Greenlife pans are useless junk. I hate mine. Can’t wait to replace. Everything sticks and I mean everything. Even the cooking spray is stuck on.
        Terrible product

    • Janice cook October 8, 2015, 12:59 pm

      Mine too!!!! Food has stuck from the begining!!!!!!

  • Roger Kallenbach March 20, 2015, 2:02 pm

    I bought a set from Walmart over a year ago, for our winter home, proudly made a hanging rack and displayed my new find, used them a low heat, with all no scratch utensils, hand washed them with a soft dish cloth, for a few weeks last season and was so please, when asked what I wanted for Christmas, I mentioned and received another complete set, which I planned to take north and replace that cookware with.

    That’s the good news.

    The bad news is they started to show tiny spots in some areas and also have food sticking in those area, in spite of the use of extra olive oil. I’m very displeased with the product and intended to take the, un-opened Christmas gift back to a Walmart store. I no longer have the box the first set came in or the recite or proof of purchase. Well they still give me a refund?

    I’d like to start over with a different product, probably one made in the USA.

  • BJ March 30, 2015, 12:17 pm

    Havin problems frying eggs.. They’re sticking n tearing when turning., any ideas??

  • Marie March 31, 2015, 6:25 pm

    I was gifted a 12 in. Green Life skillet back at Christmas 2013. I’ve used it every day, hand washing it every time and using only melamine (hard plastic) or silicone spatulas. It has gradually developed chips over time and now, 15 mos. later, needs replacing because I have to use something abrasive to clean the center where the coating has worn off severely. However, for the cost, about $25, it was a very inexpensive pan, so I will probably buy another unless I can find something else more durable. Not sure I want to risk double or more $$ though.

  • Tami Volz April 17, 2015, 9:50 pm

    I am so disappointed in these pans and more disappointed with the company. Good luck with the warranty or getting in contact with them. They NEVER return calls and you cannot contact them online.
    Waste of $80.00.
    Tami Volz recently posted { If LED is the Future, the Future is Now }

  • Cathie May 2, 2015, 12:12 pm

    We have had ours 2 weeks. Loved them. Thus morning, after frying bacon on medium heat, two chinks have appeared on the pan. So very sad. I will say the ceramic distributes the heat far more evenly than other cookware.

  • Teri May 12, 2015, 12:29 pm

    I had read somewhere that your not supposed to use non-stick spray (Pam) on these pans, just oil.?

  • jesse May 16, 2015, 11:50 am

    My pans worked great for a few months and then stopped working they even stick when cooking bacon. We dont have a dish washer so that didn’t wreck them. very sorry that I got them, and would rather be “poisoned” by teflon.

    • Joan June 11, 2016, 10:09 pm

      Bought the frying pan set 2 weeks ago. first 3 times not a problem I use no oils or fats at all even pancakes slide around easy. Had been hand washing however it said dishwasher safe so I put it in with a load since then everything sticks like glue, handle also caught fire. back to cast iron like I’ve been using the last 40 years.

  • Beverly White May 28, 2015, 9:11 am

    I thought your cookware was all ceramic not ceramic coated. I have had this set not more than 6months. And I am seeing chipping. Just like Teflon. Very disappointed with these

  • Karen June 22, 2015, 4:26 am

    i just purchased the green+life round 11″ grill pan with glass lid and round rack insert. Your not to use cooking spray or it will form a sticky non-stick. I use a basting brush with butter or any oil EXCEPT extra virgin olive oil ( it can’t handle too much heat) Also keep temps in this pan to medium. I cooked smoked turkey sausages and added just a small amount of water. They turned our nice with the grill marks and i was able to use the lid to keep warm or the rack if i wanted to steam buns.

  • Christina June 22, 2015, 11:34 pm

    I bought the large fry pan and the small fry pan. So far I am not happy. Everything seems to stick and I plan on taking them back to Walmart. I have used olive oil, and canola oil on medium heat. What am I doing wrong??

  • Erica July 14, 2015, 9:48 am

    The Greenlife Cookware seems really nice! I really like the review and I think that it is absolutely worth it! I love that they are so easy to clean! 🙂

  • Lesia laugavitz July 19, 2015, 5:14 pm

    I got mine for Christmas. Before even using one a spoon the perfect width of pan got stuck in the pan and after getting it out it left two spots without ceramic. The company did replace it with a note that said make sure you only cook on low to med. heat, use silicone utensils, hand wash, don’t use sprays etc. So I have done all that stuff and still coating coming off. Basically I don’t expect to spend good money on cookware to find I have to treat it like a baby. I make everything from scratch so use my pans daily. This cookware is for the kitchen that does not get a lot of use.

  • Alex August 1, 2015, 2:47 pm

    I’m really disappointed for this pan. I have my small and large fry pan for about 8 months and have 4 months with sticky food problems. I don’t remember how does a pancake looks without stick. I do not use metal utensils or dishwasher. I’m from Panama City, Panama and here is very difficult to ask for the money back if you don’t have the invoice. i think that not to take the risk to test another of your products.

  • Jean Gentile August 3, 2015, 2:22 pm

    Have my green life pans for about a year and have never used a medal spatula or anything that would scratch them. But my pans have scratch marks on them. Very upset with this. Wanted to know if anyone else has had this problem.

  • Trish August 11, 2015, 11:59 pm

    Has anybody had any problems with a funny taste coming into boiled noodles or rice? I received the complete set last month for my birthday and washed all pots and pans in hot soapy water rinsed and toweled dried by hand, since I have boiled rice, and noodles two times in the medium and large pots and my food came out tasting like it was boiled in water that came from a hose. Totally gross! I know its not my water because I never had that problem with my old pots.

  • Chris August 17, 2015, 3:21 am

    I thought that green life pans were great until on day my food started sticking – and now I am ready for some other product. got any other great ideas?

  • Bradley August 18, 2015, 8:28 am

    I have been using these for about 2 years and no problem at all. The coating is still there I hand wash also myself and use the green life utensils as well. I have no problem with my coating at all I’m sorry to see how a lot of you are having these problems I love my set I have.

  • MaryAnn King August 19, 2015, 8:22 am

    I purchased my skillet about 2 months ago – have used it about a dozen times – one little fleck already showing up & this morning the eggs stuck really bad despite the fact that I used some oil and medium low heat.

  • Jim September 16, 2015, 3:32 pm

    Interesting The fry pan I bought every thing sticks to it

  • Martha King October 1, 2015, 10:13 am

    I love it! I am planning to take a pan like this for a long time! I am fascinated by how easy they are for cleaning! Thanks for sharing!

  • rick December 18, 2015, 7:33 am

    I bought three frying pans at Walmart. For a while, I loved them; any food just slid right off and you only had to wipe them for the next use. However, even though I took care to touch the cook surface with plastic utensils only, the surface seems to have worn out. Now they are useless and my large frying pan has egg stuck to it that I can’t remove without abrasive. I’m taking them back to Walmart. If I can’t return them I’ll just throw them away.

  • Danny December 29, 2015, 2:09 pm

    I got one of these as a Christmas present and I like it very much. But I would caution anyone against trying to cook eggs in it without a little butter or oil. I had heard that nothing would stick on them and you didn’t have to use any butter or oil but that didn’t turn out to be accurate. First thing I tried to cook in it was a couple of fried eggs and they stuck (not a lot but they stuck). Now I put a little butter in it when I cook anything and it works fine. And it is very easy to clean.

  • Rita Dennis December 30, 2015, 2:00 pm

    Green Life skillets cook great BUT buyer beware! There is a silicone pad on the back of the handle that leads you to believe the handle can be touched while cooking and will not be hot. EVERYONE WHO HAS USED THEM FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY KITCHEN HAS BEEN BURNED. I lave they way they cook, but I will get rid of them. I’m trying to find a way to contact the company that makes them. Definite design flaw! My suggestion – buy something else!!

  • joy January 6, 2016, 12:43 am


  • Pam January 24, 2016, 12:33 pm

    I hate these pans ! Everything stick and it was right from the start . No olive oil, lite oil, low heat, hand wash and only have the right tools. Junk!!! $59.00 for one pan. Never will buy another.

  • Tonya January 31, 2016, 2:21 pm

    These are horrible. I wish I would have read these reviews before I purchased them. Normal use and the frying pans are completely stained at the bottoms after having them for about 6 months. Spending the $80 was a big deal for me, so I am completely disappointed.

  • Barbara February 12, 2016, 9:11 am

    First use and small skillet is stained. What can be done?

  • Faith February 18, 2016, 5:16 pm

    The pans are good at first but after that things stick and the coating starts to get spots i sm not impressed at all

  • Darlene McIntyre February 24, 2016, 10:50 am

    I love my goodlife cookware I even bought the whole set for my daughter and she LOVES them as well…

  • Scott March 5, 2016, 5:46 pm

    Forget these. Couldn’t get burned stain out when cooked Hash browns!!!!!

  • Cyndi March 21, 2016, 7:31 pm

    I purchased the whole greenlife set and when I cook in them it’s like there is plastic burning. Please tell me whym

  • Pauk March 22, 2016, 9:15 pm

    So strange…eggs stick every single time to mine….the scambled eggs photo is clearly faked.

  • MM March 27, 2016, 9:40 am

    It is a waste. I bought the whole set took extra care even used paper towels to wash each pan. The thing is, yes when pans are new the non stock is great but within a month eggs start sticking and I wind up with scrabbled eggs. Keep looking…

  • JUDI KONOPKA March 29, 2016, 9:41 pm

    These pans were nice the first few weeks. NOW they JUNK everything sticks to them & they look like I have had them for 30 years CAN Not get the stains out !!!! I will never buy them again

  • shauna May 5, 2016, 3:23 pm

    I HATE these pans ” non stick” yeah right everything sticks. I’m surprised water doesn’t stick. My old cheap wore out non stick pans work better than these pans. The handles burn and break off. I would NEVER buy anything from this company again!

  • Daniel Pezewski May 22, 2016, 5:04 pm

    junk, don’t waste your money.

  • Tim birdsall May 23, 2016, 5:35 pm

    I bought a set of your ceramic frying pans the small pan is nearly unusable as everything I cook in it seems to stick and burn even on low heat ,I must say that I am very disappointed in your product

  • pawl June 8, 2016, 8:15 pm

    Why the heck didn’t the manufacturer use silicone for the handles. I’m frying some tortillas and smell plastic burning, look over the the handle is smoking—toxic, stinky smoke. No, didn’t catch fire, but honestly, when you’re cooking food you don’t want to smell plastic burning. That’s never ever happened before. A bizarre and potentially dangerous (read, class action?) choice on the manufacturer’s part not to use heat safe material for the handles. (This was the two-pan set in brick color.)

  • Kathryn L Moores June 24, 2016, 11:47 pm

    We just bought a home in Florida we bought these Green Life pans for the new house you can’t cook with them you cannot make eggs you cannot make pancakes you can’t cook anything something like soup you can make soup in the frying pan but that’s about it worst pans ever

  • Cheryl July 11, 2016, 5:59 pm

    Hi. Are you able got tell me if there’s any aluminum in this cookware.? Thanks

  • arch loch July 30, 2016, 10:51 am

    Beware of new and improved. Used this pan and followed all the terms and conditions made by the manufacturer and it’s a gigantic piece of junk. I will no longer purchase a product that’s advertised on TV, by some slick, snake oil salesman. The only thing I will use is old and tested like cast iron or stainless. and will not get conned into these outrageous claims made by these shysters!

  • Rita August 25, 2016, 7:34 pm

    We bought a 12 ” round skillet, 3 ” deep, on the insistence of our daughter for safety, healthy reasons. This was a waste of money. Everything burned and there are scratches and chips all over the skillet. We haven’t used it in months. I threw the receipt out, figuring this was a decent purchase. My sister-in-law gave me an aluminum electric skillet and I use it daily. I also bought mine at Wal-Mart.

  • Rick Andrews September 15, 2016, 5:49 am

    These pans work great for a while – maybe a few weeks, then food sticks like glue and they must be scrubbed to remove the stuck on food. I was very careful with mine and took very good care of them, only to be very disappointed. I’ll probably just throw them away soon..

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

24 Flares Facebook 24 Pin It Share 0 Twitter 0 Google+ 0 24 Flares ×