Review: Organic & Natural Accent Pillows by Fabricabra (+Giveaway!)

3 Flares 3 Flares ×

pillowI’ve said before that throw pillows are a great, inexpensive way to “redecorate” your home once you’re tired of a certain look. For example, my husband I have a large red sectional sofa in storage that we’ve had for several years. Although the sectional is no longer my taste, with my lofty green ideals, it would be hard to justify replacing it just because I’m tired of the way it looks. We previously used deep browns, blacks and tans around the red sofa that gave our home a warm, Earthy look. As much as I like Earthy, I want something bolder with sharper contrast this time around. Since I can’t replace the sofa, I will certainly add a few pops of interest with some new accent pillows. Fabricadbra will be one of the first stops on my list.

Donna Halloran, the incredible owner of Fabricadabra, sent me one of her beautiful throw pillows to review. Without hesitation, I can honestly say that I absolutely love it. The pillow I received features a bold zebra pattern, and I’m just itching to find a great place to use it. I initially imagined bold, solid color bedding with the zebra pillow on top, but it may be a long while before I have said bedding to pair it with. For now, it resides on our bed with our existing bedding. Not exactly a match made in color heaven, I know, but I couldn’t just leave this beautiful pillow sitting in a box. It was just begging to be displayed, so displayed it is.

pillow1It may be hard to tell from the photo, but the “white” parts of the fabric aren’t pure white. They are more what I would call “natural” — a color closer to ivory. This is normal with organic cotton fabrics, as it would take a bleaching process to make them snow white. The black also has a pre-faded sort of look, which I personally think looks more natural and unique than stark black.

What’s also great is that the pillow insert is made of natural kapok fibers and covered in organic cotton as well, so it is literally green inside and out. I took closeup photos of the insert and the placement of the zipper on the back of the pillow. I took the insert out and put it back in, and the zipper placement makes it easy to do so. Organic cotton inserts will be available soon, and the inserts are sold separately from the pillow covers.

pillow2Fabricadabra carries a wide assortment of natural pillow covers, from great styles in organic cotton to ikats, suzanis, batiks and wool. The fabrics that are not organic are, in most cases, handmade by artisans throughout the world using traditional techniques. Some of the fabrics are also made from scraps from other textiles. There is no shortage of styles and colors to choose from either. You will almost definitely find something that fits your taste.

I personally love my Fabricadabra pillow, so much that I’m now considering putting it away for safe-keeping until I can find a good place to put it.

Why It’s Green:

  • Made of organic cotton or wool
  • Non-organic fabrics are handwoven and dyed using traditional techniques
  • Inserts made of natural kapok fibers, and organic cotton inserts will be available soon

Price: $19-65

(review)

WANT TO WIN?

pillow-giveaway Fabricadabra has offered up an organic cotton pillow cover with a kapok insert in the fabric of choice for one lucky reader of Green Your Decor. So how do you win? Visit the Fabricadabra website, then come back here and leave a comment about something you liked or learned. It could be a product or something you learned about the company. Do this by 11:59 p.m. EST on Thursday, March 5, 2009, to enter.

One entry per email address. U.S. mailing addresses only! A winner will be chosen via Random.org and contacted via email. Good luck everyone!

3 Flares Facebook 1 Pin It Share 2 Twitter 0 Google+ 0 3 Flares ×

49 comments… add one

  • condo blues February 26, 2009, 3:56 pm

    I learned that Kapok fiber is natural, organic, pesticide free, non-allergenic, mold and mildew resistant, lightweight, odorless, silky, sustainable, washable and non-toxic pillow stuffing. Cool, who knew?

    condo bluess last blog post..Where are the Environmentally Friendly Carpet Cleaners?

  • Carla February 26, 2009, 4:34 pm

    I learned about the kapok tree and what the fibers are used for. Before now, I have never heard of it!

    The most fascinating quality is that it can support up to 30 times its own weight in water and loses only 10% of buoyancy over a relatively long period of time.

    Carlas last blog post..Eco Fashion: What is it?

  • MJ February 26, 2009, 4:55 pm

    A suzani is an embroidered cotton or silk cloth made for a variety of domestic urban purposes.

  • Jingle February 26, 2009, 5:10 pm

    Wow! There is a lot to learn on that site! This fact stood out to me: Conventional farming devours roughly a third of a pound of pesticides and fertilizers to produce enough cotton for a single T-shirt.
    That is amazing! It makes me think twice about what I am buying, that’s for sure!

    Jingles last blog post..These are a Few of My Favorite Blogs…

  • Heather H. February 26, 2009, 6:53 pm

    I like the EMBW002 Wool chainstiched wave on cotton pillow cover.

  • Stacy February 26, 2009, 7:36 pm

    I learned about a new natural fiber that I hadn’t heard of before. Learning about the kapok tree and was interesting and I like the fact that it doesn’t bother sensitive skin.

    Stacys last blog post..Spreading the News….Free Quiznos Sub

  • Mary Jenkins February 27, 2009, 1:01 am

    I’ll tell you what I liked, the brown batik pillow cover. I want it so badly!

    quitecontrary1977@hotmail.com

    Mary Jenkinss last blog post..The Month of You

  • Liz C February 27, 2009, 7:30 am

    Batik (Javanese for wax painting), both the technique of textile design by negative, or resist, dyeing and the resulting fabric. Designs are first painted on both sides of a cloth in melted wax, traditionally poured from a copper pot with several spouts. I wasn’t familiar with the traditional process with copper pots. My daughter does batik and has made some beautiful pictures with it, so it was interesting to learn more on the original process.

  • Michelle February 27, 2009, 7:34 am

    I learned that kapok fiber is lightweight, non- allergic, non-toxic, resistant to mold and mildew rot and is odorless..that’s a pretty impressive line-up of pluses!

    I love the Patchwork cotton ikat pillow cover!

    Michelles last blog post..Crazy Dog tees…hey look!

  • ashley February 27, 2009, 7:41 am

    I learned what a Kapok tree is, where it grows and what they can be used for. Love the pillows!

  • Kathy February 27, 2009, 7:50 am

    I like the Wool Andean Sun pillow cover.

  • judy brittle February 27, 2009, 8:14 am

    I really like the Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover. That is a really wonderful design and I would so love to have that! Thank you so much!

  • stephanie February 27, 2009, 8:16 am

    kapok tree, or ceiba pentandra, is of the east indies, africa and tropical america. it is used for stuffing pillows, life jackets and for acoustical insulation in many eastern countries.

    totally cool!

    i’d love to see more uses for the silk-cotton fiber in the u.s.!

  • Kris February 27, 2009, 8:48 am

    These pillows are so pretty! I have never heard of the kapok fibers before. What I learned about them is that they are non-allergenic. My son has asthma so we are constantly looking for things that do not irritate it, but stll look good.
    Thanks for this opportunity, Kris

  • Diana February 27, 2009, 8:56 am

    I learned that all of their pillow inserts are made in the USA. And they are really pretty pillows!! :)

  • Dreamer&Doer February 27, 2009, 9:01 am

    I learned that Kapok trees are more than just beautiful. And I learned the story of another artisan who’s stepped out and created art while remaining committed to products that are healthy and beautiful.

  • Rebecca February 27, 2009, 9:08 am

    I learned that I am in love! I love that they are moisture-resistant, quick-drying, resilient, buoyant, lightweight, completely hypo-allergenic, dust mite and mold resistant and odorless. Everything you want in a pillow. They sound like a wonderful investment since they will hold up to daily use so well. So many patterns, I love it!

  • Karen E February 27, 2009, 10:16 am

    I had heard of the kapok tree from a children’s story but was never aware of its uses. The variety of prints and patterns makes them available to many different style tastes.

  • Jiyoung Jang February 27, 2009, 10:33 am

    I learned that kapok fiber is eco-friendly and this is just what I want. Patterns are so lovly!!

  • Lori Z. February 27, 2009, 11:10 am

    I love Batik. I’ve done my own (in the time before kids), so I was really excited to look at their batik patterns. I didn’t realize that batiking has been around since Sumer. It’s pretty amazing that the technique has survived for thousands of years.

  • Karin C. February 27, 2009, 11:29 am

    I never heard of the kapok tree. I learned that kapok fiber is moisture-resistant, quick-drying, resilient, buoyant, lightweight, completely hypo-allergenic, dust mite and mold resistant and odorless.

  • Robin February 27, 2009, 11:49 am

    I’m loving the Organic Raspberry Zig Zag pillow!

  • Bettina February 27, 2009, 12:37 pm

    I learned that kapok fiber is eco-friendly!

  • JenO February 27, 2009, 1:58 pm

    I love the cotton suzani pillow covers! I learned the design comes from what is now Uzbekistan.

    JenOs last blog post..You’re never too young…

  • Peggy Gorman February 27, 2009, 3:07 pm

    I learned about a new fiber from the Kapok tree. It sounds fantastic. I also love the OC006 Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover
    ,its beautiful!

  • sito February 27, 2009, 4:33 pm

    I learned that Kapok, an epiphyte plant, gets its nutrients from the air, which it uses to create fine, air-filled tubes of golden silky fiber. This means it does not need chemicals to grow, nor does it require disturbing the rainforest. I always learn something interesting when you send me off to another website. Thanks!

  • Daniel Ramsey February 27, 2009, 4:35 pm

    Decorative pillow inserts are made with kapok fiber filling and organic cotton shells. Kapok fiber is natural, organic, pesticide free, non-allergenic, mold and mildew resistant, lightweight, odorless, silky, sustainable, washable and non-toxic. All inserts are made in the U.S.A.

    Decorative pillow covers made only from natural, non-toxic fabrics.

    The fabrics are woven only from natural, non-toxic fibers, using mostly ancient techniques and low impact dyes. A story, a person and a culture are behind every fiber. Most decorative pillow cover fabrics are woven on handlooms and the artisans are paid fair wages for their skills.

    Do green ad great looking too!!! What we are offering is high quality natural and pesticide-free textile products that don’t offend one’s sense of beauty, function and compassion. Our goal is to be a proponent for all that is pure, healthy, beautiful and respectful. This is a humble attempt to share our passions and values.

  • Zoe Lee February 27, 2009, 6:31 pm

    I enjoyed reading about organic cotton:

    Organic production systems replenish and maintain soil fertility, reduce the use of toxic and persistent pesticides and fertilizers, and build biologically diverse agriculture. Third-party certification organizations verify that organic producers use only methods and materials allowed in organic production

    thanks for a fab contest.

    Zoe Lees last blog post..Happy Holidays :)

  • melanie February 27, 2009, 7:57 pm

    Love the OC006 Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover the best. Beautiful pillows.

    =) melanie
    melanieadey at hotmail dot com

  • Stephanie V February 27, 2009, 9:54 pm

    WOW! WL027 Felted wool electric blue circles pillow cover is fantastic. Love those blue circles on black.

  • Staci A February 27, 2009, 10:21 pm

    I love the IKT02 Silk/cotton ikat pillow cover! They have such beautiful designs. I love that they are handwoven and dyed. Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Lessa February 28, 2009, 2:58 am

    I learned that “Ikat is a style of weaving that uses a tie-dye process on either the warp or weft, before the threads are woven to create a pattern or design.” I never knew how those beautiful weavings were created!

  • Nancy February 28, 2009, 6:54 pm

    I really like this one : OC006 Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover
    thanks for the chance to win!

  • Jackie March 1, 2009, 12:54 am

    I learned It can support as much as 30 times its own weight in water and loses only 10 percent of buoyancy over a 30-day period!
    thanks for the giveaway twinjackienurse at gmail.com

    Jackies last blog post..Focus Friday!

  • Lucy March 1, 2009, 5:51 pm

    Made in the USA, bright, bold colors. Fun, fun, fun. The felted wool spots pattern is adorable.

    Lucys last blog post..Image Uploader

  • Amanda March 1, 2009, 7:17 pm

    I really love the Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover. I really love how she offers the “highest quality natural and pesticide-free textiles that shouldn’t offend your sense of beauty, function, and compassion. This offering is just a humble attempt to share my passion and values.”
    I blogged ya too: http://superangelsblog.com/?page_id=133
    Amanda

    Amandas last blog post..Majestically Beautiful

  • Kelly Rae March 1, 2009, 8:43 pm

    I love the OC006 folk art organic cotton pillow cover. It may be a little too girly for my boyfriend’s taste, but it is so beautiful!

  • Patti March 2, 2009, 8:20 am

    Ok, it does not match ANYTHING in my house (at the moment) but the Lime stylized rose organic cotton pillow cover might inspire me to go couch shopping again!

    Pattis last blog post..Gimme more Monday

  • Sara C. March 2, 2009, 8:48 pm

    Green AND *local* to me in Massachusetts — love it!!! How to choose which one…?

  • Janet F March 3, 2009, 10:14 am

    I like the embroidered on cotton suzani pillow cover.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

    Janet Fs last blog post..Summer Soles Review and Giveaway

  • Vicki Wurgler March 3, 2009, 11:40 am

    All embroidery is hand embroidered. All artisans are paid fair wages

  • Niina March 4, 2009, 11:39 am

    I just love ikat, and Fabricadabra has some beautiful patterns of this traditional fabric. Nothing better than stylish and eco-conscious.

    Niinas last blog post..a search-engine poem attempts to answer an important question.

  • Rebecca C March 4, 2009, 10:09 pm

    Folk Art organic cotton pillow cover is my favorite :D I also learned that Kapok, an epiphyte plant, gets its nutrients from the air!

    Rebecca Cs last blog post..Confession and Some Giveaways

  • Cori Westphal March 5, 2009, 12:29 am

    I learned that Kapok is eight times lighter than cotton. Who knew? After reading about all of the benefits of the Kapok fibers, you’d think this stuff would be everywhere!

  • Mary Croose April 13, 2009, 2:06 am

    At the above comments some visitors asked for cotton suzani pillow covers. I have found a good source for it and wish to share it with you. I hope it is OK if I post it hear – http://www.oriental-creations.com and go to Suzani section. There are also Ikat Fabrics, ikat and suzani cushion covers and suzani bed covers of different sizes.

  • Flick October 3, 2009, 12:18 pm

    This article is true hype! Poor features, сheap yahoo hosting and very high prices. I advise everybody to give such stores a wide berth and try to google another one.

  • jennae October 4, 2009, 9:32 pm

    I’m sorry you feel that way, but I reported honestly on my experience with Fabricadabra, and it was a great experience. If you do research about eco-friendly products, you’ll understand that the prices are justified, and are, in fact, comparable to other handmade and high-end home products. Not sure why you say the article is hype, but you are entitled to your opinion.

  • lizasmith February 7, 2011, 7:17 am

    I like the Wool Andean Sun pillow cover.

  • Lynda February 24, 2011, 9:00 pm

    The wonder of pillows! Very FUN! Glad to see the word is spreading about Kapok and their value to the consumer. They are really wonderful and one really cool thing is that you can re-loft them by throwing them in a hot dryer for 10 minutes. I am excited about the stuffing and have added them to my website as well. http://www.northernnaturals.com Plenty of kapok to go around with this sustainable commodity.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

3 Flares Facebook 1 Pin It Share 2 Twitter 0 Google+ 0 3 Flares ×