According to Oklahoma`s status, a lease was renewed on the same terms and conditions if the tenant pays rent and remains on the land at the expiration of the original lease. And while there is no limit on the amount a landlord can claim on bail, he is required to return the deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease (minus the cost of cleaning or repairing). But please note that the right of the owners is quite complicated. This brochure explains some of the basic ideas in plain language, but you shouldn`t rely on this information to solve detailed problems. Only a lawyer can give you specific legal advice. The following table provides more details on Oklahoma`s rental and lease laws. Other items can be found in findLaw`s Lease and Leasing section. Q: What will happen to my bail? A: Your landlord can apply for a deposit. It must be held on a federal insurance account in Oklahoma, separate from the owner`s equity. As a tenant, you must request in writing the return of the money within six months of the end of your tenancy agreement. The tenant must provide the landlord with a transfer address or a new address to which the deposit must be sent. The landlord must return it within 45 days of the written application, along with a written explanation of the deduction in case of damage or rent due. If you do not request a refund in writing, the owner can keep your money at the end of the six months.
If your landlord sells the house or apartment, you must receive: Lock Outs Are Illegal It is not legal for your landlord to undress or lock you up at any time without sending you a SUMMONS and giving you the opportunity to appear. You may be able to sue your landlord for damages if you are illegally stranded. Caution This is the money you pay before you move in. You have to make sure that you leave the property clean and in good repair. Your landlord is required to keep your deposit in a separate tenant account. If the landlord disagrees, you cannot use your deposit for your rent last month. If you are moving, you must let your landlord know a written request that you want to return your deposit and provide a mailing address to which the owner must send you a deposit. Your landlord has 45 days from the date of the letter to return the deposit. If he keeps all or part of the deposit, he must give you a list of claims and expenses broken down. Public health rights and rules may apply if you live in public housing.
For more information, please contact legal aid at 1-888-534-5243 or contact your public housing company. Rules for owner Q: What are my obligations as a tenant? A: You must keep your premises clean and secure, dispose of all waste properly, keep the toilets clean, use the facilities safely and not intentionally or unattended damage or destroy anything that belongs to the owner. You and your customers must respect your rental agreement and all the right rules and not allow anything that would disturb other tenants. You and your hosts are not allowed to engage in criminal activities that threaten the health, safety or peaceful consumption of other tenants or pose a danger to the premises. You and your guests are not allowed to commit drug-related crimes on or near the site. Q: Can the landlord terminate my lease? A: If you have a lease agreement with a particular expiry date, your landlord cannot evict you before that date unless you do not pay rent or otherwise fulfill an obligation to your lease or rules, and you do not heal after receiving a correct notice from the landlord.